Pot-stickers, Gyoza, Mantu, Dumplings: The bite sized delights that cross cultures

We love this blog from Manchester-based blogger and food lover, Teasesame. For us, it just highlights the ubiquity of the link between dumplings and crossing cultures. This piece presents just some of the different dumplings from around the world that are personal to the author through the different cultural identities present in her life, and a little review on how she made them.

 

tea and sesame

Prawn Dumplings/Pot Stickers Postickers

During my childhood, my parents were keen to ensure my siblings and I retained our culture, mother tongue and heritage. As second generation migrants living in the UK there was always a need to balance my two identities; though not without the occasional volcanic eruption!

I attended a Sunday supplementary school to learn to read and write Chinese. This took place from 1-3pm each week and was attended by hundreds of children just like me, my sister and my cousins. A regular ritual for my family was to go to China Town and at 12pm for a dim sum lunch before we then rushed over to school. In Hong Kong, dim sum is traditionally served throughout the day.From early in the morning for breakfast right through to late afternoon for late lunches. ‘Dim Sum’ (點心) translated means ‘Touch of the Heart’.  If you’ve read my ‘About’ page, you’ll know that my name…

View original post 554 more words

Leave a Reply

